I Have A New Camera!

June 23, 2012 at 11:19 am 5 comments

Love-in-a-Mist

Yes, after years of snapping wildly at my flowers with an old so-cheap-you-know-you’re-going-to-regret-it Argos special, I have taken the plunge and bought a proper camera. It was expensive (for me anyway – I am innately reluctant to spend money on what I, deep down, feel is nothing more than a gadget) but it was long overdue. When your business is about creating a look, not having any decent pictures seems somewhat remiss.

Anyway, having done the deed, I am determined to a) not get dirt in it* and b) learn how to use it properly. I look at the blogs of people like Belinda at Wild Acre and Erin at Floret Flower Farm and I find their pictures both beautiful and, more importantly, inspiring. I only hope that one day I will be able to take such magical images.

So far, all I’ve done is play around with the buttons. I am at heart a manual-reader – I like to start at page 1 and work my way through it, but the idea that I’ll get the time to do that this side of Christmas seems farcical right now. One of the things I’ve been trying to do is highlight a flower and leave the background blurred. If it’s worked at all, it has been more by luck than judgment, but one thing I’ve learnt, and been delighted by, is how it also obscures the waist-high nettles in the background. Yay! Not a bad start.

*You would understand why that gets top priority if you saw my van.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

The Best Bits A Right Hoopla

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thuytrang  |  June 23, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    lovely flowers!;))

    Reply
  • 2. Sandra  |  June 24, 2012 at 9:27 am

    New toy, what fun. Beautiful pics and seems to me you’ve got the idea of blurring the background and focussing on foreground – even if by luck rather than management. Rob would love to talk to you about composition, when you have some spare time (yeah, as if that’s going to happen anytime soon – perhaps in November
    ???)

    Reply
  • 3. Celia  |  July 16, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    Good for you! Wow, you read the manual. That is something I never, ever do until the thing is broken, lol. Quickstart and Troubleshooting is as far as I get. x

    Reply
  • 4. Belinda Norrington  |  July 24, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Aww, Jan, what a kind mention, but crikey, in the same breathe as Erin – I am def not worthy!!

    Hope you are having lots of fun with the camera, I was having instruction book meltdown with the one I got, (for Christmas/birthday/Christmas again!), and went on a day course which was really useful.

    call me if you head east, would love a catch up. Bx

    Reply
    • 5. Jan  |  July 30, 2012 at 9:06 am

      Hi, Belinda. Yes, would love to catch up sometime. I’ll let you know if I am heading your way – with camera, natch! x

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed